An Explanation Of DUI Vs. DWI In Texas
Have you been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas? Do you know the difference?
Texas distinguishes between the charges of DUI and DWI, and as a result, the defense strategies are different for each. At the San Antonio criminal defense Law Office of Anthony B. Cantrell, we have been protecting the rights of clients charged with drunk driving since our founding in 1989. We have a thorough understanding of the laws governing drunk driving and will always attempt to minimize any potential consequences.
Experienced Texas DUI/DWI Defense Attorney
If you have been accused of driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence, contact the Law Office of Anthony B. Cantrell.
The Difference Between DUI and DWI
A DUI is charged under the Texas Traffic Code and is only issued to minors (those under the age of 21). Accordingly, a minor may be charged with a DUI if they are driving with any amount of alcohol in their system, but are still under the legal limit (blood alcohol content of .08). Typical penalties for a DUI include a fine of up to $500, up to 40 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol awareness classes and a license suspension of up to 60 days. Please note, juveniles may still be charged with a DUI for underage drunk driving.
A DWI is charged under the Texas Penal Code, and as a result, is a much more serious offense. A person may be charged with a DWI if he or she has a .08 blood alcohol content or higher, or is clearly driving while impaired. Depending on the circumstances of the case, DWI penalties can range from large fines and driver’s license suspension/revocation to jail time or prison.
For more information about the difference between a DUI and DWI, or to discuss your case with an experienced DWI defense lawyer, send us an email or call us at 210-888-9653 in San Antonio, 830-606-0222 in New Braunfels or toll free at 210-802-8217.