Texas man receives his 10th DWI within a 30-year period
A man in Texas was recently sentenced to two life terms in prison after committing 10 DWI offenses within a 30-year period.
Recently, according to The Washington Post, a Texas man was convicted of drinking and driving for the 10 th time within a 30-year period. As a result, the man was sentenced to two life terms in prison. During the deliberation process, the jurors assigned to the man’s case did not know that it was his 10 thdrunk driving offense. Instead, they only knew that it was at least his third DWI.
The man’s latest case
In the man’s most recent case, The Washington Post states that law enforcement officials received calls about a car accident he allegedly caused. However, before law enforcement officials were able to get to the scene, the tow truck driver arrived. After this occurred, the man tried to convince the tow truck driver to take him home so that he would not be arrested for impaired driving.
Once law enforcement officials arrived at the location of the accident, they found that the man’s truck was there, but that he was not present. They later found him hiding in a ditch up to his waist in water with a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.217. In Texas, according to the Texas Department of Transportation, drivers can face penalties and fines for drinking and driving if their BAC level is 0.08 or higher.
DWI penalties in Texas are severe
Drivers who operate a vehicle with a BAC level at or above 0.08 face severe consequences, even if it is their first offense. The Texas DOT states that drivers convicted of DWI for the first time may have to:
- Spend between three to 180 days in jail
- Pay a fine of up to $2,000
- Go without their driver’s license for a period of one year
- Pay a yearly fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain their driving privileges
The more DWI offenses drivers have on their record, the more severe the penalties will be for intoxicated driving. For instance, drivers who are convicted of drinking and driving for the second time may have to pay a fine of up to $4,000 and spend anywhere from one month to a year in jail. They may also lose their driver’s license for a period of two years and have to pay an annual fee to maintain their driving privileges for three years.
In addition to these penalties, drivers in Texas convicted of DWI, may find that their employment prospects are harmed and that their reputation within their local community is damaged. If you were arrested for drinking and driving, speak with an attorney to determine what legal steps you should take next.
Keywords: DUI, drunk driving, arrest, penalties
- Drug Crime Defense
- Cocaine & Heroin Charges
- Drug Possession Defense
- Drug Trafficking
- Ecstasy & Hallucinogen Charges
- Federal Drug Charges
- Illegal Drug Information
- Marijuana Charges
- Methamphetamine (Meth) Charges
- Possession With Intent To Distribute
- Prescription Drug Charges
- Drug Information – Cocaine
- Drug Information – Date Rape Drugs
- Drug Information – Ecstasy
- Drug Information – Hallucinogens
- Drug Information – Heroin
- Drug Information – Methamphetamine
- Defense Issues
- Federal Offenses
- Internet Crimes
- Juvenile Offenses
- Sex Crimes
- Traffic Violations
- Violent Crimes
- White Collar Crimes
- New Braunfels Area